Always fresh new new things!

Domains of Learning & LDC

without comments

OK, my first 2 hours of morning was hijacked by George Siemens with his new article Learning Development Cycle: Bridging Learning Design and Modern Knowledge Needs. A must read.

Abstract :

Instructional design (ID) serves only a small part of the entire learning experience. The pace of information development exceeds courses as the primary delivery mechanism of learning, challenging established ID. Alternatives to courses, like learning networks and ecologies, are developing as an informal learning approach. Designers and organizations receive substantial benefits to acknowledging informal learning, and initiating a focused design approach. Effective learning design must recognize different domains of learning. Learning Development Cycle attends to four broad learning domains: transmission, emergence, acquisition, and accretion. Designers focus on different objects during the design process, in order to meet the intended learning goals. Design objects include: instruction, fostering reflection and critical thinking, creating access to resources, and networks and ecologies.

Written by anol

July 13th, 2005 at 3:56 am

Leave a Reply